For all media inquires, please contact Mary Powers, Assistant Director of Communications and Media Relations

(415) 614-5638 | [email protected]

Archdiocese Facts

Date of Canonical Establishment: July 29, 1853, by Pope Pius IX

Counties: 3 (San Francisco, San Mateo, and Marin)

Territory Area: 2,325 sq mi

Catholic Population: 441,736

Patron Saints: St. Francis of Assisi; St. Patrick, Apostle of Ireland; St. Joseph, Foster Father of Jesus

Suffragen Dioceses of the San Francisco Metropolis: Honolulu (Hawaii), Las Vegas (Nevada), Reno (Nevada), Salt Lake City (Utah), Oakland (California), San Jose (California), Santa Rosa (California), Sacramento (California), and Stockton (California).

Archdiocesan Stats

The Archdiocese of San Francisco (Latin: Archdiœcesis Sancti Francisci; Spanish: Archidiócesis de San Francisco) is a Latin Church ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Catholic Church in the northern California region of the United States. It covers the City and County of San Francisco and the Counties of Marin and San Mateo.[1] The Archdiocese of San Francisco was canonically erected on July 29, 1853, by Pope Pius IX and its cathedral is the Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption.

Parishes: 88
Missions: 6
Chapels: 4
Cemeteries/Mausoleums: 8
Retreat Houses: 3
Preschools: 54 serving 2,391
Elementary Schools (Diocesan): 47 serving 13,031
Elementary Schools (Private): 7 serving 2,046
High Schools (Diocesan): 4 serving 3,582
High Schools (Private): 8 serving 4,291
Seminary: 1 Diocesan
Catholic Hospitals: 1
Care for the Elderly: 11
Child welfare center, and center for the protection of families: 13
Centers for Social Assistance and Education: 23